top of page

Interview with Keana Aguila Labra






"Liberation is my lola’s unabashed laughter."

— Keana Aguila Labra



Keana on the Photo: "We need to celebrate love for our friends, so this picture is of my best friend, Reggie, and I. I love you, Reg; thanks for always dealing with my bullsh*t!"




Follow Keana's Instagram & Twitter: @KeanaLabra

Check out her reviews on Medium: Here

Visit Marias at Sampaguitas: Here



Q: Introduce yourself briefly and tell us where you are from! Hi, I’m Keana Marie Aguila Labra*, and I’m a budding writer, poet, feminist, and advocate for Filipinx representation. I live on unceded Ohlone territory, otherwise known as San Jose, California. My father’s family is from San Fernando, Cebu and Ilihan, Tabogon, Cebu, Visayas, Philippines. My mother’s family is from Tondo, Manila, Metro Manila, Luzon, Philippines.**


Q: How did you first get into poetry and writing?

I attended a poetry workshop with Fariha Roisin, who penned my favorite book of poetry How to Cure a Ghost, and one thing she said that struck me was, “I write because I have no choice.” I think this is the same with other writers and poets. Literally, I learned how to read and write before I could walk. I had a cute, spiralled basketball notebook with my baby poems about the moon and the grass. So, I didn’t necessarily ‘get into’ poetry and writing. It was always with me, I always gravitated towards it, and I’m grateful for it as an outlet and companion.

Q: What sparked you into creating Marias at Sampaguitas? What is Marias all about?

Marias was born December 2018. Around that time, Royal Rose and Nightingale and

Sparrow were gaining traction, and I loved their message of inclusivity and absence of elitism. The creation of Marias was a bit selfish on my part, as I wanted to provide a safe space not only for marginalized voices, but to create a ‘love letter’ to by Filipinx identity. Maganda Magazine and TAYO Magazine already put in the work to uplift Filipinx voices; yet, I still felt there was room in the literary world for my ‘daughter.’


We hope to be an open door to all and to elevate voices that would not be considered in white, cisgender, heteronormative spaces while also maintaining a proud Filipinx background. We’re still learning and growing, but I think we’re doing a good job so far. I wouldn’t be able to run Marias without the (voluntary) love and guidance from the rest of our masthead: Kathy, Morgan, Hailey, Nazli, and Kelly. Also, thank you to Imani Campbell of Royal Rose and Juliette Sebock Nightingale and Sparrow for inspiring me.

Q: What does being Filipinx-American mean to you? Do you identify as Fil-Am? Why or why not?


I do identify as Fil-Am, and I think that definition grows and evolves with me. I’m also trying to expand my activism and advocacy outside of identity politics as I learn more about the immediate needs and disparities of our folks in the States and in the Philippines. I’m driven by academics, such as Kuya Jason Magobo Perez, to incorporate ethnic studies with creative writing. I’m also inspired by our collective emotion, whether it’s the fiery anger of Ate Barbara Jane Reyes or the softness of Kuya Hari Alluri. I also love the words of Ate Janice Lobo Sapigao, Ate Rachelle Cruz, Ate Michelle Penaloza, Marianne Chan, Jan-Henry Gray, Aimee Suzara, and Kay Ulanday Barrett. I still have to read words by Dawn Bohulano Mabalon, Al Robles and Carlos Bolusan. Sometimes, I feel a sense of guilt being a bit older than my peers and only just beginning my journey of reflection as a Filipinx person. But, I feel so lucky to have a plethora of triumph, survival, and history to read and learn from. As a Filipinx American, I want us to always remember where we came from and not be afraid of what’s ahead. I want to open the door for the adings after me in whatever it is that I do ‘when I grow up.’ I hope to become a beacon of inspiration to encourage these adings to grow, succeed, and achieve their dreams.

Q: Where do you see your future as a creative? What and who do you hope your writing and magazine inspires?

I hope to become a ‘published’ poet, whatever that means? Have more than one book published? Speaking of which, thank you Nightingale and Sparrow for publishing my first micro-chapbook, Natalie. I’m shy and soft-spoken, so I’m honestly not sure if I should pursue teaching. However, I am leading a book club and poetry workshop with Periwinkle Magazine, and I’m endlessly grateful for their Editor-in-Chief, Venus Davis. I want to dismantle all elitist structures in academia, as knowledge and learning should be accessible to all folks. I hope what I do inspires others to serve their communities; and, I also hope we learn to truly uplift each other and continually support other marginalized groups. If you have an idea for a magazine, do it! Reach out to me; Marias will do all we can to help you.

Q: What advice can you give to writers of color, especially Filipinx writers out there?

You don’t need anyone’s permission. If you don’t see any folks with your background in your profession, sphere, realm, etc., make your own room. Become the leader you wish you had. To Filipinx writers, please know that you do not live in the shadow of our Manxngs, Ates, and Kuyas. Pick up where they left off. You are part of this kapwa too. Your work has meaning; your work is important. So, share it with us.

Q: What is your definition of “Walang Hiya”? What does “Walang Hiya” mean to you?

I actually didn’t grow up with the same understanding of walang hiya. When my mom would yell at me (hehe, sorry, Nay), I thought it meant, ‘how could you?’ as opposed to ‘without shame.’ But, my mom definitely tried to enforce gendered and familial expectations upon my sister and I, especially as the eldest girls. Now, I say, f*ck that emotional labor. Wear your short skirt. Presentation is not equal to purity. All my Filipinx sisters at kapitid are pure no matter how you dress. Take care of yourselves; creating boundaries is not betrayal. Please live walang hiya; have no shame in your existence because there’s no reason to be ashamed. I’m still learning to do the same.


*Please just call me Keana; only my mom ever refers to me as Keana Marie. **My love goes out to my family back in the Philippines. There are too many to name individually, so my shoutout will be by surname:

Ingat to the Galangs, Lopezes, Bautistas, and Aguilas. Ingat to the Corteses, Masucols, Aranases, and Labras. Ingat to extended family, such as the Ngs and Lobitanias.


 

Interview conducted by Walang Hiya Project founder Isabel Angeles.






44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page