top of page

Calling My Future Self by Alyssa Powell



" My name is Alyssa (pronounced Ah-lie-sa). I am a young Filipina and self-titled multi-hyphenated creative currently based in Yugambeh/Bundjalung land. I am an immigrant that grew up away from the archipelago and on a journey to decolonise and reclaim my identity. "


From a young age, my Lola reinforced the notion of bayanihan to me and everything I do within my creative work, my day to day life and interactions with people is deliberate and rooted in this. Collaboration is an important notion to me because individuals coming together for a shared vision allows room for inspiration and is worth the challenge. And I always love the outcomes! This particular work is a collaboration with my partner and fellow creative, Louis. I was actually en-route to a very short trip to the motherland when I sent Lou a voice memo of my inner thoughts, as if it were me talking to future myself. It acts as a voice over for this clip and viewers get a glimpse of an intimate sacred moment. I hope this sparks a conversation with you and your future self.


- Alyssa Powell (she/her)

Alyssa's Contact Info:

Insta: @alyssapowell and @roseandcitrus Youtube: Here

 

Originally published in September 2019.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page