top of page

"Go Back to Where You Came From" by L.M.B.F.

after zeina aboushaar


they say when you lose a language you

lose a generation to the river that has

dried up in your mouth the ocean that

birthed my lola and left nothing for me


my lola grew up without a country

only to watch her apo have to leave

what was left of it leave, to go

back to the country she once fled to

leave, to go back to the country where

her generation’s tongues were clipped until they didn’t

know what language to make the word for “liberation”

to help americans understand the blood my people

left on their hands flowing like the ocean

that birthed my lola left nothing for me


the blood of my blood has always flown

through the rivers of broken land of diaspora

so yes,

i could go back where i came from

but i would only find myself back here

 

*Poem is in a quartet style the author is experimenting with and the distance between lines is meant to be evocative of the distance often felt by Filipinx womxn in the diaspora*

 

L.M.B.F. (she/her) is a writer born to Bicolano parents and raised in Metro Manila, Philippines. She enjoys exploring language in all its forms – through rhetoric and speech, through poetry and prose, and through the intersection of English with her own native languages, Bicol, Tagalog and Spanish. As an incoming high school senior, she completed the International Writing Program’s (@uiiwp) Between the Lines: Identity and Belonging program in July 2019 through a full grant funded by the Doris Duke Center for Islamic Art. Although she is new to publishing and performing her writing, she wants to use her work as an educational tool to help other young Filipinx-Americans connect to their culture in the diaspora.


Contact Info:

 

Originally published in October 2019.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you So soft warm gentle comforting When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over For popular, intimidating, unapproachable, don’t

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom in my American veins has filled me with disrespect and maybe it's true because even now I can feel oceans thundering underneath my skin (cold and pale

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

bottom of page