top of page

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you

So soft warm gentle comforting

When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over

For popular, intimidating, unapproachable,

don’t even think about it, intimidating,

I want to hide

I want to hide

I...never thought I’d feel like hiding from you

Not cause you’re scary or anything

but because the prospect of you is scary and I need breathing room

so I can steady myself so I’m not in front of you unprepared

and with nothing to say or even worse something lame


I forget that I’ve said plenty of things to you that

I was embarrassed to say at the time and you took it in stride

I forget that I basically told you my life story

the first time I met you because I felt comfortable doing so

I forget that something about you made me want to confide in you

three times through letters that revealed the real me

I forget that after I cried in front of you twice,

you showed me who you really were and

each time I vowed not to be afraid of you anymore and to relax more but

each time I forget


You’re known as the one who hypes people up

in a gentle, comforting, encouraging manner

That’s why when I do get the courage to talk to you or

you just end up in front of me somehow,

I always end up smiling more

or revealing a lot more than I should

or being way too excited or loud

or standing up from a chair too quickly so I could stand like you

or opening the door too abruptly once I see it’s you through the glass,

accidentally slamming someone’s hand

because I can’t wait for us to be

in the same room

again.


Even writing this I can’t help but smile and

I don’t know if you being on a webcam instead of right in front of me

put you at a more comfortable distance so I felt braver saying more

And the fact that we weren’t able to make eye contact...normally I like when we do

but tonight maybe it was good that we weren’t


I’m not even mad that your name was on the event for today

and you weren’t there in person

And didn’t think ahead to say “I’m going to be out of town that day”

Because your leadership skills and authoritativeness shined through

even with the dim reddish lighting of the backseat of a car

surrounded by your mostly silent and supportive buddies

And “honestly I was surprised we were able to connect on this call at all”

cracked me up like wow you could be funny when...

Say it...


When I’m not scared of you


 

Evangelyn says, "This poem, called Scared, is about how, when you have feelings for someone, sometimes all that they mean to you and what you see in them cloud your vision so much that it's hard for you to not get nervous and be yourself around them.

 

Evangelyn Rachel (she/her) is a writer, spoken word artist, actress, and singer. She aims to build people from marginalized communities up and raise awareness of important issues  in her work.  Contact info:

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom in my American veins has filled me with disrespect and maybe it's true because even now I can feel oceans thundering underneath my skin (cold and pale

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

Hxstories by Oni J

They tell you that histories belong in textbooks, Penned by men who only know my country By wars. The Spanish-American war, The Philippine-American war, World War I & II, Pilipinos were there. They fo

bottom of page