top of page

Hxstories by Oni J

They tell you that histories belong in textbooks,

Penned by men who only know my country

By wars.


The Spanish-American war,

The Philippine-American war,

World War I & II,

Pilipinos were there. They fought. They lost.


I possess a body that is a warring ground,

For men to stare,

For women to envy,

For people to consume.


“I shall return,” said MacArthur.

But when you say this,

You mean you took something

That was not yours,

Knowingly.


//


Pilipinas have been taken—

Our bodies are not souvenirs or war trophies.


I am my grandmother, my mother, my tita, my ate, & my niece.

I belong to a lineage of small, yet immovable womxn.

I have made a home in my body.


Loved. I have the power to love.


Protected. I have the power to protect.


My hxstory is nonlinear, adaptive, co-created

But most of all,

It’s fucking mine.

 

Oni J (they/them) originally submitted this for the collective’s October theme. It is a forceful reclamation of Pilipinx identity and history. Oni manages to encapsulate the anger many Pinoys have towards colonization and the mistreatment of Filipino womxn. Oni takes back what is theirs, their creed ringing through this piece. Yes, your body, your hxstories; all of it is yours. Always.


Oni's Contact Info:

Twitter: @0niJuma

 

Originally published in April 2020. Written for the October theme.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you So soft warm gentle comforting When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over For popular, intimidating, unapproachable, don’t

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom in my American veins has filled me with disrespect and maybe it's true because even now I can feel oceans thundering underneath my skin (cold and pale

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

bottom of page