top of page

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom

in my American veins

has filled me with disrespect

and maybe it's true because even now I can feel

oceans thundering underneath my skin

(cold and pale because God forbid

I make love to anyone, even the sun).


My titas say I was loved too much as a baby,

that this has made me think

I am worth something beyond a set of hands

and two sets of lips, that I have some purpose

beyond

raising children

and

singing hymns

to the god who killed my ancestors.

My titas order me to swallow my ambition

and little else

because men only want girls who are small

and breakable

and I am simply not delicate enough

for docile domesticity—


I am a tidal wave, wild and ferocious, devouring galaxies—


"Be quiet," my titas say, but how do you stop the roar

of four hundred years of womanhood

once it has refused to be reigned in?

 

Christine Liwag Dixon (she/her) crafts a beautifully written poem about breaking free and reclaiming one’s self. “Pinxy” is a poem that expresses independence and refusing to be suppressed under certain expectations and ideals.


Christine’s Contact Info: Insta: @cmliwagdixon Twitter: @cmliwagdixon

 

Originally published in April 2020.

56 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you So soft warm gentle comforting When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over For popular, intimidating, unapproachable, don’t

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

Hxstories by Oni J

They tell you that histories belong in textbooks, Penned by men who only know my country By wars. The Spanish-American war, The Philippine-American war, World War I & II, Pilipinos were there. They fo

bottom of page