top of page

I Walk Into Every Room and Yell Where The Filipinos At by L.M.B.F.

after José Olivarez


actually, I don’t have to yell.

or say anything at all.

we filipinos, we like to

announce our presence.

if you haven’t figured us

out by our brown skin

and brown hair and

brown eyes,

everything brown like

the morning kape my yaya

used to brew,

you’ll place us soon enough.

“pinoy pride” is ingrained in our bones,

our language, our land that

sinks by four meters every year cause

it was made of volcanic rock

but still rises like

abó and air. the way our

resilience forces us

to rise again

and again.


but still,

i walk in.

and i yell “hoy!”

and point

with my

lips,

and all the pinoy boys and dalagang

pilipinas turn to look at me

cause they thought they

just heard their mother.

all of us are shaped

by our mothers

moreso. we

trade stories of

culture and carry-ons and carrying

the weight of two (or more) worlds on

our frail tongues. you see,

in our parents’ homeland,

english is currency, is class, is the colorful

understanding that we can choose

to fit in with our colonizers.

and all that implies.

our parents were programmed

to make themselves palatable

to dear old GI Joe

and figured it would create

doors for their children, too.


but what about my children?

my kababayans’ children?

while the door to this new world has already been opened

will my kids lose their chance to learn about the world their mother left behind

in the language where she first learned how to love?



i walk into every room and yell

asan kayo, aking mga kapwa Pilipino

pakinggan ninyo po ako

that means Listen to me

cause maybe i secretly

fear the day when my father will stop

telling me superstitious tales of the tikbalang and the multó. and my mother won’t make me

pray the rosaryo. and my titas won’t

remind me to aral muna before loving any boy.

and my cousins won’t be around forever

to call me about canceled promises

of pag-ibig and pagmamahal and poreber

while i tell them to

move on ka na lang, dae yan mabalik saimo

in Taglish and broken Bicol —

everything broken about the way i talk

like the bridge between

the land i left and the land i live in

i’m trying desperately

- [ ] not to let crumble completely.


i walk into every room and yell where the Filipinos at

cause maybe i don’t want to lose the language that laps like a wave

over my ancestors’ land,

that reminds me of june typhoons

and hot december days

and spending school in the city

while sweating out summers at sea —

the language that sings to me

like a kundiman - a serenade - into my soul

cause i fear i will forget that

i am made of abó and air,

and not just assimilation;


and maybe that is why i scream

for my fellow Filipino,

in hopes that our resilience

might help us find friends

who will help us swim to the shore,

so we may not have to wonder

how to wander back home.

 

L.M.B.F. (she/her) is a writer born to Bicolano parents and raised in Metro Manila, Philippines. She enjoys exploring language in all its forms -- through rhetoric and speech, through poetry and prose, and through the intersection of English with her own native languages, Bicol, Tagalog and Spanish. As an incoming high school senior, she completed the International Writing Program’s (@uiiwp) Between the Lines: Identity and Belonging program in July 2019 through a full grant funded by the Doris Duke Center for Islamic Art. Although she is new to publishing and performing her writing, she wants to use her work as an educational tool to help other young Filipinx-Americans connect to their culture in the diaspora.


Contact Info:

 

Originally published in October 2019.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you So soft warm gentle comforting When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over For popular, intimidating, unapproachable, don’t

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom in my American veins has filled me with disrespect and maybe it's true because even now I can feel oceans thundering underneath my skin (cold and pale

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

bottom of page