top of page

No One Ever Got Hurt Making Daisy Chains by Evangelyn Rachel

I tried to fit in

I tried to have fun

I even picked up lingo like unbirthday that was fun

But each time I tried 

They looked at me like 

I looked at bread and butterflies 

I make daisy chains when I’m bored 

Once they die I make a new one 

I like to have them with me when I’m stressed

The teachers at school don’t understand 

They take them away 

And I do well of course but I’d do much better with them 


I came down here following a rabbit 

Cause I love rabbits

And I’ve never seen one talk

But once told people they said 

Forget that rabbit 

Why a rabbit 

You better join us in anything that’s not a rabbit 


Have them inside my cameo necklaces and on mini paintings on my bedroom walls

Got to see the inside of that rabbit’s house

Would have been a dream come true 

Except they wanted to burn me alive


If my parents found out I was here they’d be so upset

They’d say Alice you’re respectable 

Stop moving your head

Don’t sit on the grass

You’re getting your petticoats wet 

Why are you judging me?

What you’re doing is more harmful than mine

So why are you the cool one 

Why am I the outcast 

No one got hurt from making daisy chains 

What am I doing wrong?

You can’t tell me what I’m doing wrong?


Why am I getting up well 

You’re being rude to me

What did you expect from me 

Did you expect me to be all 

Omg yay and God Bless us everyone 

Because someone like you decided to talk to me

Did you think just because I’m not from around here I wouldn’t demand basic respect?

That just because I’m not used to you I don’t know to ask for more?


Well you’re wrong.

I’ve been in another world 

I’m from another world and I’ve been in it my whole life 

And in that life they treated me well

So I know better 

Stop assuming I don’t know any better 

And treating me like crap because you think I think it’s as good as it gets 

because I don’t.

I know 

Other visitors to your world probably smiled,  nodded and accepted that this is as good as it gets 

Well guess what I’m not other visitors 

I don’t want to be three feet tall because three feet tall is such a wretched height

Maybe you’re okay with staying three feet tall forever 

but I’m not. 

I don’t wanna be like you

At all

So you could go choke on that methanol

You don’t know what it’s like to be me

So cut out the shit and hypocrisy


When I go back I’d get electroshock

Cause life isn’t fair 

And Victorian times suck 


And I get locked up

While you’re invited to every party in town 

How is that fair?


You thought I was here so I could be more like you 

Cause what else could I aspire to 

Has it ever occurred to you

That there’s nothing wrong with me 

And what’s wrong is this whole world and you?


 

Evangelyn Rachel (she/her) states, “I wrote this inspired by my experience as a neurodiverse person.”

 

Evangelyn's Contact Info:

 

Originally published September 2019.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you So soft warm gentle comforting When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over For popular, intimidating, unapproachable, don’t

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom in my American veins has filled me with disrespect and maybe it's true because even now I can feel oceans thundering underneath my skin (cold and pale

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

bottom of page