top of page

Not Fair by Camilla Catignas

“Mom, can I play outside today?”

“Anak, no. you’re just gonna get darker. You’re already so itim na.”

Before I embraced my brown skin

I fell under the intergenerational trap

Of the contagious

colonial mentality

that told us filipinos

we should not be proud of our tan or brown skin

that brown means inferior and dirty-looking

Like the mud on the ground when a typhoon strikes the island


Before I embraced my brown skin

They told me to use whitening soap

So my skin could be more fair

like actresses on Tagalog soap operas

I started to use whitening cleansers at a very early age

Guaranteed to make me look as gorgeous as the woman on the label,

Soft and white, like the inside of a coconut

The Eskinol would sting on my face

But it felt like I was cleansing away the impurities

of my 8 year old skin

That was my melanin

My heredity

my cultural identity

the distorted beauty standards

that tell us

we need to look like the colonizer

In order to be accepted

by society

seeing all the actors in Filipino mainstream media

with their fair, light skin and Spanish noses

Yet stick their noses up

when it comes to representing our signature brown skin


Before I embraced my brown skin

They taught me to not be proud

Of the skin that I’m in

Grew up going to the beach

hoping my skin wouldn’t get any darker

with all my SPF 50 sunscreen

We need to go Quarantine!

the colonial disease

that tells filipinos that we should look whiter

like them paintings of Jesus or Mary Magdalene


Little did I know, lotta white people wish they had my color,

like them kardashian icons

Laying in the sun

hoping for a little bronze

Spending money to go to tanning salons

To achieve their own golden standard of beauty


little did I know

how much I can actually glow

sweeter than crispy turon

Fresher than fried lumpia rolls

and as tender

as chicken adobo

Before I embraced being morena

why did I not learn to love my brown skin?

And appreciate the hard work of my own melanin?

The media isn’t fair, but neither is my own skin.

Destroy the colonial mindset

embrace your roots and be tough

& Don’t let them tell you

that your skin

isn’t fair enough

 

Camilla's Contact Info:

 

Originally published October 2019.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scared by Evangelyn Rachel

Sometimes it’s so hard for me to remember it’s you So soft warm gentle comforting When you’re surrounded by other people all of those get clouded over For popular, intimidating, unapproachable, don’t

Pinxy by Christine Liwag Dixon

My titas tell me I'm wild, that too much freedom in my American veins has filled me with disrespect and maybe it's true because even now I can feel oceans thundering underneath my skin (cold and pale

Ilongg-lish by CJ Andrea

My beginnings consist of my mother’s pockets filled with 200 dollars, of an airplane seatbelt buckled by my father saying, “Shh, anak, magkita kita si mama soon.” My foundations are laid out to show m

bottom of page